

# **SCRATCH COMPETITION**

# Sunday 19<sup>th</sup> May 2024

FOR THE

## THE FORMBY HARE

Holder: Greg Holmes The Royal Birkdale Golf Club

36 HOLES STROKEPLAY

The winner will receive a replica Formby Hare and a voucher. Other winners will be awarded vouchers as set out in the Conditions of Entry.

### The Lancashire Links Trophy

For competitors <u>entering both</u> the Formby Hare and the Southport and Ainsdale Bowl, this will now be recognised as the 'The Lancashire Links Trophy' a World Amateur Golf Ranking Event. There will be prizes for the best three aggregate scores over the two competitions.

### Entrance Fee - £90.00

Lunch included for all competitors after 18 holes

## ENTRIES CLOSE 4.30 pm THURSDAY 18<sup>th</sup> April 2024



### FORMBY HARE CONDITIONS OF ENTRY, REGULATIONS AND PRIZES

- 1 Entries are invited from male Amateur members of recognised Golf Clubs with a handicap index of 3 or less.
- 2 Entries on the completed entry form together with the appropriate entrance fee must reach the Assistant Secretary, Formby Golf Club, Golf Road, Formby, Merseyside L37 1LQ by 4.30pm, Thursday 18<sup>th</sup> April 2024.

Enquiries: Monday to Friday 8:30am – 4:30 pm, Telephone: 01704 835391/872164 email: <u>assistantsecretary@formbygolfclub.co.uk</u>

3 The Organising Committee will make the draw and the order and times of starting will be posted / emailed to each competitor. All unsuccessful entrants will be advised. The draw will also be available on our website from Monday 22<sup>nd</sup> April 2024.

# In the event of a competitor having to withdraw, no entry fee will be returned.

- 4 The organising committee of the Formby Hare wish to ensure that slow play is avoided wherever possible. The committee has therefore prepared a Pace of Play Policy and Timings documents, applicable for the Formby Hare 2024, which are available to download. Paper copies of the two documents will be available to all players at morning Registration. Course marshals will monitor pace of play at various times of the day, and are authorised to impose pace of play penalties as required.
- 5 In the event of a tie (or ties) the result shall be decided in accordance with the rules of the Lancashire Union of Golf Clubs.
- 6 The Organising Committee reserves the right to refuse an entry without assigning a reason for their action. All disputes shall be referred to the Organising Committee whose decision shall be final.
- The Winner will receive a replica Formby Hare and a voucher for £235.
  Vouchers will also be awarded as follows: Runner Up £150, Third £160,
  Fourth £90, Fifth £75 and Sixth £60. The best scores for each round £75.
- 8 No competitor may be awarded more than one prize in the Formby Hare. In the event of a competitor returning scores which would otherwise entitle him to be awarded more than one prize he shall be awarded the prize first named in the list set forth herein.

#### The Lancashire Links Trophy

There will also be prizes of £75, £50 and £25 for the best aggregate scores for competitors <u>entering both</u> The Formby Hare and The Southport & Ainsdale Bowl, now known as 'The Lancashire Links Trophy' which is a World Amateur Golf Ranking Event.

## FORMBY HARE ENTRY FORM

Please complete in **BLOCK CAPITALS** 

First NameSur	name
Address:	
	Post Code:
Telephone	.Mobile
Email	
Club	Golf Club
CDH Number	

#### **DECLARATION OF EXACT HANDICAP**

#### It is essential to provide your Club Secretary's verification below:

(please note you will not be entered if the above is not complete)

Handicap: Exact.....

Certified that the above exact handicap is correct:

Print Name.....

(Club Secretary)

Date	Signature	
		(Club Secretary)

Date	.Signature

(Competitor)

#### ENTRANCE FEE £90.00 Cheques payable to Formby Golf Club

**The entry fee is £90.** Debit and Credit card payments can be made or a cheque payable to Formby Golf Club





## **Previous Winners**

1949	A T KYLE	Sand Moor	1007	C LUENE CUAN	D1 11
1950	C H BEAMISH	Royal Portrush	1987 1988	C J HENEGHAN	Blackley
1950	R J WHITE	Royal Liverpool	1988	A MITCHELL	Bromborough North Manchester
1952	D ANDERSON	Leigh		S HAMER	
1953	I W CALDER.	Formby	1990	T A FOSTER	Accrington
1953	D L WOON	St Andrews, Hamilton NZ	1991	D HARDING	Worsley
1954		Woolton	1992	I PYMAN	Sand Moor
	F FAWCETT		1993	G RAWSON	Brough
1956	G H FOSTER	Oxford University	1994	J HODGSON	Tytherington
1957	M J PEARSON	Royal Liverpool	1995	D JOHNSON	St Annes Old
1958	R J WHITE	Royal Birkdale	1996	J P MILLER	Fulford
1959	G HUDDY	Lindrick	1997	P THOMAS	West Bradford
1960	B STOCKDALE	Royal Lytham & St Annes	1998	M PILKINGTON	Pwllheli
1961	M J REECE	Southport & Ainsdale	1999	J HOLMES	Crewe
1962	J B CARR	Sutton	2000	C VANCE	West Derby
1963	J GLOVER	Clitheroe	2001	FBIBBY	Wilmslow
1964	B STOCKDALE	Royal Lytham & St Annes	2002	M RAMSDALE.	Formby
1965	I R HARRIS	Hallowes	2003	R FINCH	Hull
1966	D I RIGBY	Blackpool North Shore	2004	M HUNT	Pleasington
1967	S G BIRTWELL	Fairhaven	2005	S BRENNAN	Wheatley
1968	D M MARSH	Southport & Ainsdale	2006	M BALDWIN	Royal Birkdale
1969	S G BIRTWELL	Fairhaven	2007	W BOWE	Workington
1970	D J ECCLESTON	Ormskirk	2008	J ROBINSON	Southport & Ainsdale
1971	H ASHBY	Consett	2009	J A WILSON	Formby
1972	R J WHITE	Royal Birkdale	2010	J ROBINSON	Southport & Ainsdale
1973	S G BIRTWELL	Fairhaven	2011	J CARROLL	Huyton & Prescott
1974	T R SHINGLER	Blackwell	2012	J CARROLL	Huyton & Prescott
1975	A F WARDE	Prenton	2013	L W TOMLINSON	West Lancashire
1976	J B DICKINSON	Hindley Hall	2014	P KINNEAR	Formby
1977	J B DICKINSON	Hindley Hall	2015	P KINNEAR	Formby
1978	P CARRIGILL	Moortown	2016	M D DUNCALF	Formby
1979	<b>B A WILLIAMS</b>	Southport & Ainsdale	2017	S TOWNDROW	Southport & Ainsdale
1980	M S THOMPSON	Middlesbrough	2018	O RAVENSCROFT	Hillside
1981	P T BAILEY	Wallasey	2019	G HOLMES	Royal Birkdale
1982	D J ECCLESTON	Ormskirk	2020	Not Held	
1983	P SNOWDEN	Altrincham	2021	C BARROW	Royal Lytham St Annes
1984	N BRAZELL	Southport & Ainsdale	2021	A STIRLING	Formby
1985	G BOARDMAN	Stand	2022	G HOLMES	Royal Birkdale
1986	R A BARDSLEY	Denton	2025	S HOLMES	Rogar Dirkouic

